top of page

How Bb. Pilipinas bets will spend the P1 million pageant’s prize money

June 21 ------ The new Bb. Pilipinas International and Bb. Pilipinas Globe titleholders will get P1M each, while the two runners-up will receive P400,000 each. The STAR was able to ask some of the candidates how they were going to spend the P1M if ever they won the title and the prize money. Baguio’s Marikit, a wealth manager, replied that she will invest it wisely. “And of course, as I’ve said earlier, we (will) also give to our partnered charities,” she added. “I am partnered with my own charity in Baguio City as well, that is, Helping Hands. So probably a portion of it will go to them. And of course, as everybody knows I am the breadwinner of my family, so I would save my money and continue to allocate it in investible funds to create (and) and mas para kumita pa as I am sending my sister to a nursing school.” 


Moreover,  Pila, Laguna’s Trisha, a second-timer in Bb. Pilipinas competition, said that she will save the money for the international pageant. “I wanted to represent the Philippines on the international stage very, very well. And I will use (it) to fund my competition and also help the glam team around me (and) the people around me. I want to make a national costume that will really represent me and our country on the international stage.” Buayang Bato, Mandaluyong’s Sheryl, on the other hand, will spend the money for her education, family’s future as well as help the street children and homeless people. Tarlac Province’s Vera shared that she will allocate the money for her mom’s medical bills. “And then, I think one of my top priorities, of course, is my study. So a lot of money (will be spent on) my studies.” Bulacan Province’s Samantha offered that she will “generously give it to the less (fortunate and) marginalized sector of our society” and treat her family and friends who have been with her since day one. “I have an advocacy which is very close to my heart. I called this Harvesting Hope wherein hope means helping others. (It’s) empowerment. When I was seven years old, I celebrated my birthday in an orphanage,” she continued. “And there was this one girl, a playmate of mine, who came up to me and said, ‘Pwede po ba akong sumama sa inyo because I want to have my family.’ And that ignited the fire within me, the burning passion to help others.” Abra’s Myrna will share the prize money to the people who have supported her, she said. “Going here in Bb. Pilipinas, I don’t have much financial  savings. (So I will share it) with all the people (who helped me), especially my designer, my costume designer, he made this from the heart, without me giving him financial (money). “And of course, I will also share it to the children of World Vision Philippines. I am already sponsoring a child. I was able to do that because of Bb. Pilipinas… and I plan to do that more with more children under World Vision Philippines.” 


From Baguio’s Panagbenga Festival to Rizal Province’s rich artistic heritage-themed ensemble, the 40 candidates of this year’s Binibining Pilipinas displayed the creative creations of local designers at the pageant’s National Costume Competition, which took place last week at the New Frontier Theater. The gorgeous bets also strutted the stage in their glamourous evening gowns as part of the preliminary activities. At the end of show, five Binibinis were named the Top 5 Best Costume winners. They were Bb. 16, Myrea Caccam of Oriental Mindoro; Bb.  23, Joyce Anne Garduque of Quezon Province; Bb. 24, Monica Acuno of Kalayaan, Laguna; Bb. 31, Zianah Famy of Cavite; and Bb. 40, Myrna Esguerra of Abra. 


The Grand Parade of Beauties will be held at the Araneta City on Sunday, while the Grand Coronation of the 60th Binibining Pilipinas is happening on July 7 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum. Binibini queens Catriona Gray, Nicole Cordoves, MJ Lastimosa, and Kylie Versoza will serve as hosts. The performers will include Martin Nievera, Gary Valenciano, and SB19. The current titleholders, Bb. Pilipinas International Angelica Lopez and Bb. Pilipinas Globe Anna Lakrini, will bestow the new crowns to their respective successors. 




bottom of page