NU's Quiambao is top high school basketball player from UAAP

MANILA, Philippines, March 20 ------ National University (NU) remains the gold standard in UAAP boys basketball, after the Bullpups claimed the championship for the second consecutive season. One of the cornerstones of NU's run to a perfect 16-0 campaign in Season 82 is graduating big man Kevin Quiambao. The center was a force at both ends, averaging 12.6 points, 9.7 rebounds, 1.9 assists, and 1.4 blocks per game en route to a Mythical Team citation.

His consistent production in the tournament also earned him the No. 1 spot in the UAAP NBTC 24 high school player rankings. Adamson University's Jake Figueroa placed second, after a breakout year that saw him win Most Valuable Player honors while leading the Baby Falcons into the semifinals. NU's Carl Tamayo ranked third, and was named Finals MVP for the second year in a row. Ateneo de Manila High School's double-double machine Josh Lazaro and Far Eastern University's (FEU) scoring ace Penny Estacio rounded out the Top 5. Bismarck Lina of University of Santo Tomas (UST) finished sixth, followed by Ateneo's Lebron Lopez. Completing the Top 10 are FEU's Cholo Anonuevo, NU's Terrence Fortea, and Ateneo's Forthsky Padrigao.

Below is the final list of the UAAP NBTC 24 rankings:

1. Kevin Quiambao (NU)

2. Jake Figueroa (AdU)

3. Carl Tamayo (NU)

4. Josh Lazaro (ADMU)

5. Penny Estacio (FEU)

6. Bismarck Lina (UST)

7. Lebron Lopez (ADMU)

8. Cholo Anonuevo (FEU)

9. Terrence Fortea (NU)

10. Forthsky Padrigao (ADMU)

11. Aldous Torculas (UPIS)

12. Gerry Abadiano (NU)

13. Matt Erolon (AdU)

14. Reyland Torres (NU)

15. Jacob Cortez (UST)

16. CJ Austria (UE)

17. Patrick Sleat (FEU)

18. Jorick Bautista (FEU)

19. Ernest Felicilda (NU)

20. Kean Baclaan (DLSZ)

21. Joshua Barcelona (AdU)

22. Jordi Gomez de Liaño (UPIS)

23. Ivan Cudiamat (DLSZ)

24. Ian Espinosa (ADMU)

Unfortunately for these high school players, they cannot show off their wares on the court just yet as the NBTC league national finals and the annual All-Star Game have been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Originally scheduled for March 21 to 27 at the Mall of Asia Arena, the event is now tentatively set for April 20 to 26, still at the same Pasay City venue.