Economic agencies, DFA to oversee transition of power to next admin

Metro Manila, Philippines, May 14 ------ Four agencies are part of the committee in charge of the transfer of power to the next administration, Malacañang said.

During a taped Cabinet meeting, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea announced that Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin, Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, Budget officer-in-charge Undersecretary Tina Canda, and National Economic and Development Authority Secretary Karl Chua will be the members the Presidential Transition Committee (PTC).

"Since we still have no proclaimed winner, official talks need to be put on hold for the moment," said Medialdea, who chairs the body. "But preparation on our end need to begin. We, after all, have more work to do."

Administrative Order 47, which creates the PTC, said the committee shall serve as the overall and central coordination committee of the executive department. It shall also oversee the government's transition activities and ensure continuity and efficiency of services. Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos is leading the near-complete unofficial tally of votes by a huge margin at 31 million versus second-placer Vice President Leni Robredo at 14.8 million.